I wrote a new chapter to my book and I really like this one, even though it's very short, so I wanted to share it with you. I think this is chapter seven or eight. (Remember to check out the rest of my book, The Last Arrow!) So... here it is.

Hallucinations 

      I wake up and discover that Lurali is not in her bed. I whip out the dagger that was 
used to kill Twillar and search the room. Eventually, I find her clutching her knees 
while rocking back and forth in a corner. “Human!” she screams pointing behind me. 
I turn around marvelously fast, dagger in hand. I slash at only the air, though. “There’s no
human. Very funny,” I say. I look at her- she’s dead serious. 

    “Ella, watch out! He has a gun!” she cries. I glance 
back, but again find nothing unusual. “No, there isn’t,” I say calmly, though I 
am kind of freaking out.“Ella! You’re dead!” she yells. “No, I’m not. I’m alive 
and well,” I say as I sit down and rub her back. “No. You’re bleeding worse than 
Twillar! There is a knife through your back!” she tells me adamantly. “I’m fine. 
Feel this,” I tell her as I lead her hand to my heart. “That’s my unfaltering 
heart beat,” I add. This calms her slightly and she nods.

     “Liz! Run, Liz!” she says. “Liz is safe at home,” I say, 
somewhat impatiently. She shakes her head and begins sobbing, “She’s dead, she’s 
dead.” I help her stand up and tell her we have to take her to the doctor. She 
nods, eyes wide.


       For the entire twenty minutes it took to walk to the hospital, Lurali was telling
  me I was dead or Patrik’s dieing or there’s a human behind me. I eventually
  ignore her. A doctor is available and tells me he’ll take a look at her for one
  dlog, I agree and send Lurali with him. “He’s a human! Don’t you dare leave me
  with him Nagella Orgreble!” she screams at the top of her lungs. I give her a
  push toward the doctor. “You’re a namuh,” she says with relief when she notices
  the deep chocolate brown of his skin. He smiles kindly and nods. “Follow the
  nice doctor, Li,” I say using the nickname her mother calls her. I hear her
  blood curling scream a few times and it makes the hair on my back stand up. I
  hate seeing her in pain. 

     The doctor comes out and asks to have a private word with me. I agree.“Your friend has gone insane with fear. She’ll probably never be quite right again. Though, if you slip half a teaspoon of this into her water,” he says handing me her medication, “it will get rid of most of the hallucinations.” My jaw drops, but I take the medicine without a word.

     Throughout the entire walk home, only one thought crossed my mind: I really hate humans.


 

Comments are closed.