The Last Arrow

11/18/2011

 
Here is a chapter from the book I'm writing, The Last Arrow. This is chapter six, I have posted the rest of it on my other website.

 Death 
 

     “What happened?” I ask Lurali franticly, “Is there a human here? It’s obviously their knife!” Lurali stares at me with terrified eyes. “She was looking up at the pipe, and this knife came plummeting down from the sky straight into her throat with such a deadly force that it slammed her to
the ground and…” she tells me, but breaks out in sobs and can’t continue. 
 
     As I think what to do, I hear the cop’s siren in the distance. That namuh man must
 have blabbed to the police. I know the cops will kill us on the spot. The evidence that we’re the murderers is astronomical. 

     Without thinking twice, I grab Twillar’s lifeless hand and began dragging her to the nearest pond, which was about one-hundred fifty meters away. Considering I’m really strong for my size, it would have been easy. Except for the fact that I’m five feet, weighing 90 pounds and Twillar must be at least five foot three, weighing one hundred pounds. To add to the difficulty of it all, the pond is uphill. Lurali is completely distraught and refuses to help. 

     “Help me!” I whisper at her frantically. She nods and slowly picks up Twillar’s left hand. We begin the back-breaking process of dragging Twillar’s body to the pond.  

     Within minutes, Lurali and I are at the top of the hill. Out of respect, I take the knife out of Twillar’s throat. I discover that the knife was actually a beautiful, handcrafted dagger from the human world. The
blade was skillfully crafted of pure silver with the words, ‘Be Rid of the Namuhs,’ in beautiful script. I gasp. The humans know we exist. The handle was made of shockingly gorgeous obsidian. This human dagger fits perfectly in my hand. As I’m examining it, I realize that along the bottom of the blade, there is a tiny piece of paper. It reads, in nearly illegible scrawl: We are coming to take over. Humans against you creatures.
 Signed,
Solider Green

    I take the paper off the dagger and drop it in the pond after throwing Twillar’sbody in. I rinse off the dagger and put in my money pouch. The cop’s siren isgetting louder by the second. “Come on!” 
I whisper anxiously at Lurali. I grab her hand and drag her to our boards. She’s so distraught I don’t think she can ride. I help her get on the back of my board and drive us, full speed, back to the hotel. 
 
     We get back into our hotel room and I look at myself in the mirror. I see that my once dazzling dress in now splattered with mud and torn in several places. I realize what a mess I am and shudder. I take a quick shower and dress for bed. Lurali falls asleep nearly instantly, but I sit up and ponder what the humans want with us. I sigh and eventually drift off in a restless sleep. 

     In my dream, Lurali was looking up at the pipe when a human came down. The creature had pointy teeth, long claws, and hair made of flames. The human gracefully lands on the ground next to Lurali. But the creature was no longer a human, it was Patrik. He told Lurali to come with him somewhere. I couldn't quite hear everything they werer saying because I was pinned to the ground by another human in the shape of Ladnek. Patrik points at the pipe, then takes Lurali's hand and flys up through the pipe with her. As Ladnek pointed her gun at me, I had just enough time to see Lurali's body fall through the pipe before Ladnek shot. I woke up with a start.  




Comments are closed.