It was a cold fall morning in the year 1325, with fierce wind that whipped around my mangled brown hair. Rain was pounding down, but I still had to work in my small English village. Oh, how I wish I could be back in my tiny hut! Although wasn't much warmer in there than it was out here, the thin walls kept out most of the wind and rain. "Oh no!" I thought as my steward, Tom William, rounded the corner. He was an arrogant man with long brown hair and cruel green eyes. He thinks of us peasants as nuisances. I'm sure that if he had it his way, he would kill us all and sell the land we lived on. He rarely spoke to a peasant, so when he called me over, I nearly fell over in shock. "Yes, Sir?" I managed to stammer. "I need you to go to town with me," he replied with no further explanation. The idea obviously disgusted him, and he made no effort to hide that. "Of course. But, why me?" I asked as loudly as I could manage. "It must be you! Don't ask questions, just do as you're told!" he barked. In reply, I asked yet another question, "When?" He pondered this for a moment before ordering, "Now! Go pack your things up and come right back here!" I nod as I rushed back to my hut to get my things.
     When I get to my hut, I'm pleased to see my five-year-old little sister sitting on our only straw mattress eating a small piece of bread. She's more mature than other girls her age. She looks different, too. She doesn't have the regular brown hair and green eyes, she has light blonde hair and chocolate brown eyes. Since our mother died giving birth to her, she never had a name. My little sister had been through way too much tragedy for a five-year-old. Our father was a thief, so he was publicly executed soon after our mother died. We were left orphaned with no one willing to care for us. Tom William had told me that if I couldn't do all my work and take care of my sister, then we would both be killed. I usually leave my sister home to cook and clean our hut and a few other peasants huts. She makes a decent profit off of her housekeeping business, so I don't make her work in the fields. I take care of my parents old jobs as well as my sister's and my own.
     "I have to leave for a little while," I told my sister, attempting to hide my fear for her sake. Unfortunately, she noticed my unease and frowned. She looked at me for a moment, her dark brown eyes seemed to read my mind. She smiled and silently came toward me. She held my hand and said, "You'll be okay. I'll pack your things, you just sit down." I didn't object My sister finished packing up all my stuff in under a minute. 
   

Comments are closed.